YR Media collaborates with generous supporters to deliver impact for our participants, our community, and our audience.


  • Alameda County Health Care Services Agency
  • Alameda County Social Services Agency
  • Andrus Family Fund
  • Anonymous Foundation
  • Anonymous Foundation
  • The Bank of America Charitable Foundation
  • Best Buy Foundation
  • The California Endowment
  • The California Wellness Foundation
  • Citi Foundation
  • City of Oakland Cultural Funding Program
  • City of Oakland Economic and Workforce Development
  • The Claire Giannini Fund
  • The Clorox Company Foundation
  • Comerica Bank
  • First Foundation
  • Ford Foundation
  • FThree Foundation
  • Gap Foundation
  • Heising-Simons Foundation
  • Hellman Foundation
  • Human Investments
  • The James Irvine Foundation
  • The Jenesis Group
  • Kaiser Permanente Northern California Community Benefit Programs
  • MacArthur Foundation
  • The Miami Foundation
  • Ms. Gail Koshland Wachtel
  • National Endowment for the Arts
  • National Science Foundation*
  • Oakland Fund for Children and Youth
  • Oakland Unite
  • Public Welfare Foundation
  • The Reva & David Logan Foundation
  • Revada Foundation
  • S.D. Bechtel, Jr. Foundation
  • Shinnyo-En Foundation
  • Stanford Center on Philanthropy and Civil Society
  • Susan Crown Exchange
  • Violet World Foundation
  • Vodafone Americas Foundation
  • W. Clement & Jessie V. Stone Foundation
  • Walter & Elise Haas Fund
  • Walter S. Johnson Foundation
  • Wells Fargo Foundation
  • William and Flora Hewlett Foundation
  • Y&H Soda Foundation

*The National Science Foundation supports YR Media’s education and coverage related to science and technology, and the work of our interactive department. The opinions, findings, and conclusions expressed in these activities are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.


  • Amy Arbreton
  • Anonymous
  • Ronald Elum Family
  • Gary Rydstrom
  • Howard Wollner
  • Jennifer Abele
  • Kate Murphy
  • Luc Bellet
  • Mal Warwick
  • Marlene Millikan
  • Brad Ogle Family
  • Quinn Delaney
  • Richard Buchheim
  • Simone Coxe
  • Small Wonder Communications
  • Steve Fainaru
  • Steve Pinsky
  • The Tides Foundation
  • Thomas Byrne

Financial Transparency and Firewall

As a matter of course, the names of donors at or above $1000 annually will be published on YR Media’s website. Anonymous donations will be accepted only if the donor agrees to safeguards that protect YR Media’s independence.

YR Media maintains a firewall between news coverage and the influence of revenue sources.

YR Media’s internal revenue-generating functions (e.g., a studio that produces content for advocacy and/or corporate partners) are staffed, operated and clearly branded separately from the organization’s journalism.