#InaugurationDay Live Blog

#InaugurationDay Live Blog

01.20.21
01.20.21

Inauguration Day is here as the nation watches Joe Biden and Kamala Harris take their oaths of office as the President and Vice President of the United States. Harris is the first woman, and first Black and South Asian person, to be elected vice president, the nation’s second highest office.

Stay with YR Media for updates about the historic inauguration. For more coverage, visit Election 2020.

7 a.m. PT/10 a.m. ET

Donald Trump, who refused to publicly concede the presidential race to Joe Biden nor will he attend the inauguration, followed a tradition of leaving a note for Biden as Trump exited the White House for the final time. Trump’s administration previously said he would not leave a note. As Trump left office, he said, “It’s been a great honor, the honor of a lifetime.”

Outgoing Vice President Mike Pence will attend the inaguration.

– YR Staff

8:15 a.m. PT/11:15 a.m. ET

Former presidents and first ladies Barack and Michelle Obama, George and Laura Bush and Bill and Hillary Clinton attend the inauguration of Joe Biden and Kamala Harris.

YR Staff 

8:35 a.m. PT/11:35 a.m ET

Lady Gaga sings the national anthem.

YR Staff

8:40 a.m. PT/11:40 a.m. ET

Kamala Harris was sworn in as Vice President by Justice Sonia Sotomayor.

– YR Staff

8:47 a.m. PT/11:47 a.m. ET

Joe Biden was sworn in as President by Chief Justice John Roberts.

– YR Staff

8:51 a.m. PT/11:51 a.m. ET

“Democracy has prevailed,” said Joe Biden, 46th President of the United States. – YR Staff

9:14 a.m. PT/12:14 p.m. ET
Garth Brooks performs “Amazing Grace” following the 46th President’s inaugural speech. He invited everyone to sing last verse with him, as one united

– Alva Chavez

9:18 a.m. PT/12:18 p.m ET

Amanda Gorman, 22, recites her poem “The Hill we Climb” as America’s youngest inauguration poet. “But while democracy can be periodically delayed, it can never be permanently defeated,” she said.

– Kierra Frazier

11:10 a.m. PT/2:10 p.m. ET

Congress presents the President and Vice President with commemorative crystal vases and a pair of flags that were flown over the U.S. Capitol during the inaugural ceremony.

– Alva Chavez

11:45 a.m. PT/2:45 p.m. ET

Biden-Harris lay a wreath at The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier at Arlington National Cemetery. – YR Staff

12:20 p.m. PT/3:20 p.m. ET

The Inaugural parade is underway. The University of Delaware’s Drumline will escort President Joe Biden to the White House while Howard University’s Showtime Marching Band will escort Vice President Kamala Harris to the Eisenhower Executive Office Building.

– Alva Chavez

12:50 p.m. PT/3:50 p.m. ET

President Biden stands at the steps of the White House for the first time as President and waves alongside his wife, Jill.

– Alva Chavez

12:55 p.m. PT/3:55 p.m. ET

Howard University’s Showtime Marching Band accompanies Vice President Kamala Harris.

– YR Staff

1:10 p.m. PT/4:10 p.m. ET

President Biden declares today a “National Day of Unity.”

– YR Staff

1:47p.m. PT/4:47 p.m. ET

Three Democratic Senators — Jon Ossoff, Rev. Raphael Warnock and Alex Padilla — were sworn in by Vice President Harris, giving the Democrats control of Congress.

– YR Staff

2:39 p.m. PT/5:39 p.m. ET

President Biden started signing executive orders, including a mask mandate and social distancing on federal property; rejoining the Paris climate accord; and preventing the U.S.‘s withdrawal from the World Health Organization. He signed a total of 15 on his first day in office.

Alva Chavez

4:10 p.m. PT/7:10 p.m. ET

The Biden Administration held its first press briefing.

– YR Staff

Coronavirus Update to YR Media Community
Coronavirus Update to YR Media Community